Review: Tangerine by Christine Mangan

IMG_6745.jpgGenre: Historical Thriller

Rating: 4.0/5.0 Stars

Main Takeaway: A suspenseful, page-turning, tragic noir in the vein of Alfred Hitchcock. Highly Recommend!

Alice thought she could escape the horrors she endured her senior year at Bennington College by moving as far away as possible. So when she marries John and moves to Tangier, Morocco, the last person she expects to see on her doorstep is Lucy, her college roommate. Lucy travelled all the way to Tangier to try to make amends with Alice and restore the close friendship they once had, but Lucy’s presence brings terrible memories to the surface for Alice. And when John goes missing, it seems to Alice as if history is repeating itself.

My only regret with this book is that I did not read it sooner. Mangan masterfully builds suspense and the horror involved in deep obsession. Watching the relationship between Alice and Lucy unfold was exciting and terrifying, as Mangan gives you the clues you need, slowly, little by little, showing you the toxicity and violence inherent there. Tangerine reads like a movie – enthralling, visceral, present – and as I read this novel, I imagined it all as a black-and-white noir film in my head.

What I loved about this novel is that it did not fall trap to the happily-ever-after trope. Tangerine is tragic from the very start, and so tragic this story had to be. I felt myself screaming along with Alice in frustration at certain points, amazed by the incredulity of it all, the loneliness she must’ve felt, the fear.

Tangerine is a quick, fun, and suspenseful page-turner that I loved from the very start. Fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, and Alfred Hitchcock will love this novel. Tangerine is currently in talks for movie adaptation, a fate this book was born for, and I cannot wait to find out more!

3 thoughts on “Review: Tangerine by Christine Mangan

  1. I’ve been on the fence about reading this one but your review makes want to pick it up soon

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aw that’s great!! I loved it and found it so much fun to read. I hope you enjoy!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close